ICDA National Executive Council Dissolved, Care Taker Committee Constituted.

ICDA National Executive Council

The National Executive Council of Igala Cultural Development Association ( ICDA) has been dissolved by the Board of Trustees of the socio-cultural Association and interim National Caretaker committee has been inaugurated with immediate effect to avoid vacuum.

The Board of Trustees of ICDA dissolved the former National Executive Council led by Alhaji Abubakar Sadiq Amodu on Thursday at Late Stephen Achema Sport complex in Idah and immediately set up an interim body under the chairmanship of Chief Samuel Oyibo, the Odoma Achadu Ata Igala to run the affairs of the Apex social-culrural Association of Igala nation.

Speaking on behalf of Board of Trustees, the chairman of the BOT, Dr Simeon Oyigun said the Sediq Amodu led National Executive Council of the ICDA was dissolved, among others, because of lost of confidence, deviation from cause of Igala, conflict of interest between the executive council and the interest of Igala people as well as involvement of the body in politics, using the association to feather his personal nest and exercising power beyond its constitutional role, which obviously ridiculed the much revered Ata Igala stool and Igala kingdom.

Shedding more light, the board of trustees Secretary, Hon. David Ogwu said all efforts for the Sadiq led national executive council of the association to see reason and retreat from its unconstitutional behaviour and identify with Igala cause or interest which was the basis of the existence of ICDA failed.

According to Hon. Ogwu, ICDA was set up to promote the socio-cultural interest of Igala nation, so it remains the eyes of Igala people, and as such, history will not forgive them if they refused to take action, as the Sadiq led national executive council of the Association continue to drag the people of Igala nation in the mud because of his own personal interest and his cohorts.

The BOT noted that it is an alien and embarrissement on Igala nation for the ICDA to involve itself on award giving venture which obviously better the interest of the executive members rather than promoting the people of Igala kingdom.

The ICDA Board Of Trustees therefore said to bring sanity to the body, a 20-member national caretaker committee has been constituted with terms of reference: to take charge of the affairs of ICDA in the best interest of Igala people; review and produce an acceptable constitutional bylaw that best serve the major policy thrust of Igala people and nation; coordinate and reconcile all interest and opinions in the structure and stakeholders of ICDA; plan, organise and conduct election into the executive committee of ICDA as appropriate within 90 days (3months);

Also, the committee has been empowered to ensure and build peace and harmony in the body ,for purpose of unity and progress in Igala nation; undertake any other suitable activities that will serve the interest and objectives of the Igala land; including liasing with relevant stakeholders, traditional institutions and other affiliate socio- cultural groups, stakeholders and ICDA branches.

While receiving the newly constituted interim national working committee of the ICDA at his palace in Idah on Thursday, shortly after the body was inaugurated by the BOT of the Association, Ata Igala , HRM Micheal Idakwo Oboni11 enjoined them to be focus, consistent and loyal to the Igala cause.

HRM urged the Igala nation to collaborate with each other to develop Igala land ,advising his subjects to evolve productive venture or idea that will promote the values of Igala nation, not hollow project that has no bearing with the upliftment of the land.

While he said all hands must be on deck to see that Igala land receive the development its deserved, HRM charged the newly constituted care taker committee members of Socio-cultural group to bring life to the association for the benefit of all in the Kingdom.

Meanwhile, among others the following people were inaugurated as the interim national caretaker committe: Chief Samuel Oyibo, chairman, Dr Cletus Arome, Sir S.Y Jibrin, Barrister Williams Ameh, secretary, Col Sani Tahir (rtd), Col Obeche (rtd), Dr Yakubu Ugwolawo,Sir Tom Idakwo, Sir Jones Iduh, Barrister Williams Ameh, Hon.Agnes Momoh, Hon. Agnes Adejo, Ambrose Akpah, Barrister Williams Ameh , Labaran Tijani, Hon Abdullazeez Idoko, Sir Tom Idakwo, Abdullahi Sekiru, Mr Godwin Idakwo, Arch.Justice Akwu, Hon.M .M Ocheni, Isah Abuh.

Meanwhile, Sediq Amodu led National Executive Council has dismissed the committee saying that it lacks power.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *